A ‘Nicer’ Store-bought Laundry Detergent

I don’t do a whole lot of these type of posts…but when I come across a good product that does what it’s supposed to and does it well, I feel the need to share. So others who have thought about trying it but weren’t sure, will have something to go by. The product I am referring to is Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day Laundry Detergent. (Check out their website for DIY’s and their story)

How many of you, out there, have tried it?
Now, the first thing you may notice is the sticker price and you may immediately think…are you CRAZY lady? (compared to regular, harsh chemical, BIG jugs of laundry detergent) BUT…don’t let the price of this small bottle fool you. You do not need to use near as much as the “Jug O’Laundry Soap” brands. Only 1 Tbsp. per load, maybe a little extra if you think your load is excessively dirty or it’s an extra large load. (Still, you would only fill the cap to just past the threads..about an extra half-inch). Also, if you stock up while it’s on sale…you will only need to buy it the NEXT time it’s on sale! 😉 (I did that when Sprouts had it on sale and saved around $2 a bottle) The bottle says it will do 68 loads…I haven’t finished a bottle yet, so I can’t vouch for that. I’ve used the bottle pictured on several loads (I should have counted) and as you can see, I still have plenty left in the bottle.

Is it a miracle laundry detergent? No. It’s not gonna get everything you’ve ever thrown at your clothes out. (I’m not sure there’s ANY laundry soap that can do that) But I was VERY surprised at what this did get out the first time I used it. (considering it is less harsh in chemicals…I guess in MY mind that meant it would be weak) There were some old set-in stains on some of our clothes that I put in this first load, and when they were dry, as I was pulling them out of the dryer…I was shocked to see those were GONE. Not a SPECK in sight!! Not ALL stains were gone, but some of the stains that had gone were SET-IN and I mean REALLY set-in. These were on clothes that had been laundered several times in the past with my “Jug O’Laundry Soap” brand and yet remained, wash after wash. WIN_20150421_165241 I bought the Lavender scented (As you can tell from the picture) but there are other scents…I LOVE the smell of lavender so it was perfect for me. It is safe to use in HE washers. It has a flip-top cap to use if you want to treat a stain before you wash it (I didn’t do that on this test…but will try that in the future) It’s better for the environment…it’s not 100% natural…it says “Ingredients are at least 98% naturally derived.” (I would say that’s not too shaby) WIN_20150421_165309 The rest I’m sure you can get from the label (either at a store, my pictures or their website) Is Mrs. Meyer’s paying me for this review? NO. Not at ALL!! This is just my experience with this product. I hope you’ve enjoyed this and found it helpful. Please, feel free to write a comment and let me know similar products you’ve tried and think are great. (You know I love trying new things!)

Please, take a moment and subscribe to my blog so you can stay up to date with new posts! 🙂 (I promise not to hassle you with non-stop emails…who LIKES that?) Or you can like my page on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Tips2theTest?ref=hl and follow me on Twitter @TipsTest

Leave a Reply

