A Non Processed Snack

With the clean eating diet in mind, I started to review my husband’s lunch that he takes to work. (Due to the fact that he has the SAME thing everyday) I was already making the bread for his turkey sandwich, buying nitrate free turkey and healthier organic granola bars. (I tried making him granola…but he found it too crumbly so, I’ve been just trying to find him healthier less processed bars for now.) The only thing I hadn’t changed, until recently, was his potato chips. He was always taking the low sodium Pringle’s in his lunch. Which, I KNEW were WAY too processed and full of chemicals. But, it took me a bit to find my OLD homemade microwave potato chip recipe. I tried one I had found online…but it just didn’t turn out right. The chips were chewy not crunchy.

Finally, once I dug the old recipe out, I made a batch. (which I cut the potatoes a little too thick the first time…so, there was a bit of a worry of chipping a tooth trying to eat them. lol) The online recipe I had tried was VERY similar to this one…but it left 1 thing out, which seemed to make all the difference, soaking the sliced potatoes in cold water. (Again, this was a recipe I had taken out of ‘Eating Well’ years ago. I will share the photo of the recipe below.) My hubby approved the batch of potato chips, I just had to make enough for his lunch the next day. Which I did.

The next problem that arose was…now I had to make these practically everyday, and they were time-consuming. As you can see below there’s not much too them, and you make them in your microwave…but, by the time you cut the potatoes, soak them in cold water for half an hour, dry, oil and salt them, then finally cook them…it was about a 2 hour process. The cooking time took a bit longer because, you could only fit so many on a plate and had to turn them over halfway through. There HAD to be a way to make this quicker.

Here is the Microwave Potato Chip recipe that works great without any special equipment besides a mandolin Slicer!
Here is the Microwave Potato Chip recipe that works great without any special equipment besides a Mandolin Slicer!

Well, after posting the fact that it was a 2 hour process on my personal FB page. I had a friend who mentioned there was a microwave chip maker that was much quicker and you didn’t have to use any oil. She recommended one by Pampered Chef, which I LOVE pampered chef…but I wasn’t too keen on spending over $30 for a chip maker. So I did a little checking online, and found one similar to Pampered Chef’s model on Amazon, SLIGHTLY cheaper and it was purple so I HAD to buy it. (Those who know me, know I have a strange obsession with purple. lol I don’t claim it’s normal or even rational at times, I just LOVE purple.) So this is the one I bought…I THINK it was a slightly cheaper price than this one at the time I bought it…but don’t quote me on that! 😉

When I received the chip trays, I tried them with the slicer that they came with and the directions they had. (I have a better mandoline slicer of my own, but wanted to make sure what the thickness of the chips needed to be before I used them.) The slicer that comes with them seems to be on the cheapy side, I’m not sure how many uses you’d get out of it before it broke. I would recommend,  if you have a slicer, use it on a regular basis instead of the one that comes with the trays. Just use the cheapy once, to get the idea of the thickness of the chips. The chips turned out okay…but there was a bit of tweeking I needed to do. It takes a bit of trial and error to get good chips most of the time…but this definitely takes a bit less time and you can make a larger batch of them. NOW, I only make them once or twice a week AND I don’t have to add any oil, they are just cooked potato slices…with a little salt.

So, here is the tweeking I did…first of all I added the soaking  of the potato slices in cold water, but only for 15 minutes. (Make sure the slices aren’t stuck together when you put them in the water, I use organic potatoes…who wants any extra chemicals in their chips? While the potato slices are soaking I usually take that time to clean up the slicer and the mess I’ve made.) Then, dry the slices very well on either a clean kitchen towel or paper towels. (The batch I make is usually 1 or 2 potatoes if they are a fair size…if your potatoes  are small I would go with more. I try to use kitchen towels instead of paper towels, cause I hate going through a lot, but I think paper towels seem to dry the potatoes better, using 2 layers top and bottom.) Once the potatoes are dry, I usually have some fresh ground sea salt on a small plate and dab one side of one potato slice in the salt and rub another slice against it to take some of the salt off. (It doesn’t take much salt at all, it’s very easy to go over board.) Then take the slices and place them salt side up on one of the chip maker trays. I have found that you want to make sure there are as many holes as you can fit under each slice. (I know this doesn’t necessarily let you use the maximum space allowance, but you will end up with less chips turning out soggy/chewy) As for the amount of time to cook them for…I found it seems to vary I would suggest starting at 2 and a half minutes and keep an eye on them. You want to see them have a VERY slight rust colored spot (check picture of chips below for an idea) on a few chips before you take them out. That seems to produce the best average of chips that are crispy.(If you don’t see any slight color change  after 2 and a half minutes, go up in 30 second increments, but keep an eye on them) You DON’T want to burn them or have them too dark, just a slight rust spot. Then take the tray out of the microwave. Without burning yourself take each chip off the tray and let them cool. (I kinda balance them on the edge of the lid of the container I’m putting them in. So they don’t build up too much steam under them causing them to turn soggy. If you notice some slight soggy spots on your chips, don’t worry…usually most will go away once they cool. If a chip seems more soggy than not…you may as well eat it, it won’t crisp up. You can try putting it back on a tray and putting it in the microwave a bit longer…but it has a worse chance of burning. ) When they’ve cooled put them in a container lined with a folded paper towel. (The paper towel will help collect any dampness still in the potatoes, which should be VERY minimal. I used to keep them in an air tight container, but my hubby says they stay crispier if you leave the lid off)

Here's a picture of the last batch of chips I made. This should give you an idea of the "rust" color spot I'm talking about.
Here’s a picture of the last batch of chips I made. This should give you an idea of the “rust” color spot I’m talking about.

Your chip maker should come with 2 stackable trays…but I’ve not tried using them stacked. I put one tray in and start salting and getting the next batch on the next tray. (I’m right by the microwave and just have to look up to see how the chips are doing. You DON’T want to get busy with something else or focus on other stuff, you really need to keep an eye on them in the microwave, once that rust color starts to appear they start darkening FAST.) The chips should last approximately 3 or 4 days before getting stale. But my hubby has made them last an entire week before, I don’t know if it’s because he just doesn’t care if they’re slightly stale or what? Lol I don’t claim that these taste QUITE as good as the fatty, chemically store-bought type…something about all that grease and unhealthiness that makes them taste SO GOOD!! Lol

Hope you all enjoy this! Let me know if you have any other suggestions, I’m not a big chip eater, unless I’m dieting…then I seem to CRAVE chips. But at least THIS way, I have a great clean eating snack that I can count as just a potato…depending how much I eat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

