Spread Some Sparkle, Save Some Dough

Since I quit my job and have been a “House Wife” I have also been trying to find little ways to save money, as well as healthier alternatives to harsh chemicals. So, I have made a few cleaners that I have found online to clean dishes, counter tops, floors and other stuff around the house.

The first 2 things I tried were homemade dish soap, and an all-purpose cleaner. The dish soap recipe I got from here http://www.ablossominglife.com/2013/01/new-improved-diy-liquid-dish-soap It works pretty good. I changed the recipe slightly, simply because I’m a bit on the lazy side if you will and didn’t want to grate up soap, so I used Dr. Bronner’s Castile liquid soap. But my suggestion to you would be to no add the water, if you try it my way, it’s too watery. Now, if you used to use Dawn, it doesn’t quite cut the grease like Dawn does, but it also doesn’t dry your hands out like Dawn either. For those that like bubbles, this produces a little less bubbles…which I didn’t think I would miss, but apparently I am a bubbles person, not sure why? Like I said though, the soap works good, my hubby like it as a hand cleaner mostly. Lol I really liked the scent I made with mine, it just smelled…clean…I used the Citrus Scented Dr. Bronner’s (pictured below) with a few drops of Tea Tree oil, for its antibacterial purposes, and more drops of Lavender oil…because I LOVE the smell of lavender, also it has antibacterial properties too. (I still buy a bit of Dawn for those really tough greasy dishes, but I use this for general dish cleaning…not so often now that I have my new dishwasher in and working!) 😉

Dr. Bronner's Castile Soap
Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap

As I mentioned above I also tried an all-purpose cleaner as well. (Sorry I don’t remember where I got it at the moment) Here’s the thing, if it works good and I don’t find other recipes that improve the little quirks I have then I keep the recipe, but if I use it and it either doesn’t work or I find something that works a little better for what I’m looking for, then I delete it. This cleaner DOES work and I used it for a while, my only issue was it seemed to leave a bit of a film if you didn’t wipe things down with a damp cloth afterward. So I used it for a bit, and it was good…I don’t remember exactly what was in it but I believe it consisted of a bit of soap…Dawn or Castile (your preference), baking soda, vinegar, water and some essential oils of your choice. (you had to watch when you added the vinegar cause as you know vinegar and baking soda foam A LOT! Now THIS cleaner does suds up when used….so if you like that kind of thing, you might want to try to track down a recipe that has all these things in it.

So OBVIOUSLY I must have found an “improved” cleaner if I didn’t keep the recipe for the one above…and I HAVE!!! I absolutely LOVE this stuff…not so much the smell, but it cleans everything I’ve used it on to an ABSOLUTE SHINE!!! No rinsing or wiping down with a damp cloth afterward and it works FABULOUS at cleaning stainless steel. Here is where I got the recipe, I WISH I could take credit for this fabulous thing!! Lol http://naturesnurtureblog.com/2012/04/19/homemade-floor-all-purpose-cleaner/
I know it says floor cleaner, but I use this stuff on almost everything. I used it on my kitchen floor and I can’t even begin to tell you what a difference it made. I think it does better that the Swiffer wet pads I used to use. (I would have taken before and after photos…but I think I would have been embarrassed of what the before photos looked like. lol) Now, they do mention that you might not want to use this on wood as the vinegar might be a bit harsh, so I haven’t tried it on my real hardwood floors in my living room, just on the…whatever type of wood, I have for my kitchen floor. (It’s wood…but not wood all the way through…manufactured wood?) Anyway, try this you WON’T be disappointed!!! 🙂

Let me know if you have a homemade cleaner you love to use. I would love to see the different recipes and try a few.

Leave a Reply

